35212538

In Our Mad and Furious City

Tinder Press/Hachette UK May 3rd 2018

Guy Gunaratne's blistering debut, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY, is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of NW, THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES or fans of THIS IS ENGLAND or LA HAINE.

'What a voice. What an ear for language. No mean feat to capture the street, the nuance of black experience, the architecture of so many different lives. It's a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of MY NAME IS LEON

'A vivid and affecting account of estate life, both blighted by frustration and elevated by dreams we can all recognise and share' Stephen Kelman, author of PIGEON ENGLISH

"A blazing, swaggering, polyphonic debut. Here is London through the eyes of those ‘with elsewhere in their blood’. Gunaratne has a ventriloquist’s command of voice, a film-maker’s eye, and talent to burn." Simon Wroe, author of HERE COMES TROUBLE

'The voices and the language are stunning. As is the all the rich detail that really brings the book to life. And I really admire the skill with which each of the narrators is given such beautiful depth of soul. I keep thinking about each of them. The narrative and energy hooked me right from the start and never let go. It really is a very special book - the book we've all been waiting for' Gautam Malkani, author of LONDONSTANI

For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY announces the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

Full hardcover jacket designed by Yeti Lambregts

21246509_10211891092287340_2164086763885530856_o