In Our Mad and Furious City

LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018

Tinder Press/Hachette (UK) Hardback: 19 Apr 2018 | Paperback: 7 Feb 2019

MCD x FSG (US) 11 Dec 2018

Chosen by Ali Smith as one of 2018's best debut fiction, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of NW, THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES or fans of THIS IS ENGLAND or LA HAINE.

"...a novel that’s a piece of communal vitality, choral in its urgency, one that squares up to the history of division, makes contemporary disjuncture come alive on the page, doesn’t flinch, and demands change right now." - Ali Smith

"...throws words against the wall and makes us watch them bounce. You feel the heat, reel from the sound, and bump to the unstoppable pulse. A novel so of this moment that you don't even realize you've waited your whole life for it." - Marlon James

Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2018

Shortlisted for the Gordon Burn Prize 2018

Reviews:

TLS: "Place, and its dialects run like boiling blood through the story"

The Guardian: "...a rich, authentic debut"

Fresh voices: 50 writers you should read now: "...a blazing polyphonic debut"

The Observer: "A tinderbox debut"

The Irish Times: "...a prose that just plain deserves to be read."

The Independent: "Think Zadie Smith meets This Is England"

'What a voice. What an ear for language. No mean feat to capture the street, the nuance of black experience, the architecture of so many different lives. It's a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of MY NAME IS LEON

'This is cracking. Original, honest voices and a vivid portrayal of a London rarely seen in literature' Paula Hawkins, author of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN

'A vivid and affecting account of estate life, both blighted by frustration and elevated by dreams we can all recognise and share' Stephen Kelman, author of PIGEON ENGLISH

"A blazing, swaggering, polyphonic debut. Here is London through the eyes of those ‘with elsewhere in their blood’. Gunaratne has a ventriloquist’s command of voice, a film-maker’s eye, and talent to burn." Simon Wroe, author of HERE COMES TROUBLE

'The voices and the language are stunning. As is the all the rich detail that really brings the book to life. And I really admire the skill with which each of the narrators is given such beautiful depth of soul. I keep thinking about each of them. The narrative and energy hooked me right from the start and never let go. It really is a very special book - the book we've all been waiting for' Gautam Malkani, author of LONDONSTANI

What it's about:

For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY announces the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

In Our Mad and Furious City

LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018

Tinder Press/Hachette (UK) Hardback: 19 Apr 2018 | Paperback: 7 Feb 2019

MCD x FSG (US) 11 Dec 2018

Chosen by Ali Smith as one of 2018's best debut fiction, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of NW, THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES or fans of THIS IS ENGLAND or LA HAINE.

"...a novel that’s a piece of communal vitality, choral in its urgency, one that squares up to the history of division, makes contemporary disjuncture come alive on the page, doesn’t flinch, and demands change right now." - Ali Smith

Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2018

Shortlisted for the Gordon Burn Prize 2018

Reviews:

TLS: "Place, and its dialects run like boiling blood through the story"

The Guardian: "...a rich, authentic debut"

Fresh voices: 50 writers you should read now: "...a blazing polyphonic debut"

The Observer: "A tinderbox debut"

The Irish Times: "...a prose that just plain deserves to be read."

The Independent: "Think Zadie Smith meets This Is England"

'What a voice. What an ear for language. No mean feat to capture the street, the nuance of black experience, the architecture of so many different lives. It's a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of MY NAME IS LEON

'This is cracking. Original, honest voices and a vivid portrayal of a London rarely seen in literature' Paula Hawkins, author of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN

'A vivid and affecting account of estate life, both blighted by frustration and elevated by dreams we can all recognise and share' Stephen Kelman, author of PIGEON ENGLISH

"A blazing, swaggering, polyphonic debut. Here is London through the eyes of those ‘with elsewhere in their blood’. Gunaratne has a ventriloquist’s command of voice, a film-maker’s eye, and talent to burn." Simon Wroe, author of HERE COMES TROUBLE

'The voices and the language are stunning. As is the all the rich detail that really brings the book to life. And I really admire the skill with which each of the narrators is given such beautiful depth of soul. I keep thinking about each of them. The narrative and energy hooked me right from the start and never let go. It really is a very special book - the book we've all been waiting for' Gautam Malkani, author of LONDONSTANI

What it's about:

For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY announces the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

In Our Mad and Furious City

LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018

Tinder Press/Hachette (UK) Hardback: 19 Apr 2018 | Paperback: 7 Feb 2019

MCD x FSG (US) 11 Dec 2018

Chosen by Ali Smith as one of 2018's best debut fiction, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of NW, THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES or fans of THIS IS ENGLAND or LA HAINE.

"...a novel that’s a piece of communal vitality, choral in its urgency, one that squares up to the history of division, makes contemporary disjuncture come alive on the page, doesn’t flinch, and demands change right now." - Ali Smith

Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2018

Shortlisted for the Gordon Burn Prize 2018

Reviews:

TLS: "Place, and its dialects run like boiling blood through the story"

The Guardian: "...a rich, authentic debut"

Fresh voices: 50 writers you should read now: "...a blazing polyphonic debut"

The Observer: "A tinderbox debut"

The Irish Times: "...a prose that just plain deserves to be read."

The Independent: "Think Zadie Smith meets This Is England"

'What a voice. What an ear for language. No mean feat to capture the street, the nuance of black experience, the architecture of so many different lives. It's a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of MY NAME IS LEON

'This is cracking. Original, honest voices and a vivid portrayal of a London rarely seen in literature' Paula Hawkins, author of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN

'A vivid and affecting account of estate life, both blighted by frustration and elevated by dreams we can all recognise and share' Stephen Kelman, author of PIGEON ENGLISH

"A blazing, swaggering, polyphonic debut. Here is London through the eyes of those ‘with elsewhere in their blood’. Gunaratne has a ventriloquist’s command of voice, a film-maker’s eye, and talent to burn." Simon Wroe, author of HERE COMES TROUBLE

'The voices and the language are stunning. As is the all the rich detail that really brings the book to life. And I really admire the skill with which each of the narrators is given such beautiful depth of soul. I keep thinking about each of them. The narrative and energy hooked me right from the start and never let go. It really is a very special book - the book we've all been waiting for' Gautam Malkani, author of LONDONSTANI

What it's about:

For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY announces the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

Full hardcover jacket designed by Yeti Lambregts

21246509_10211891092287340_2164086763885530856_o